Sufganiyot – A Study in Gluttony

To conclude these eight days of light I thought it was appropriate to feature one of the holiday’s most popular sin – sufganiyot.

Personally I am not a huge fan of them (although this may be something I have convinced myself over the years to avoid the powerful calorie punch they supply) something about the ratio of dough to filling never quite sat right with me (and I love dough).  For years I avoided the their fried goodness, settling instead into the savory flavours of the latkes.

Unfortunately for me in recent years the trend in Israel has been for so-called “gourmet” suganiyot and now once a year I indulge.  This years pick was the crème brûlée sufganiyah.

IMG_7779

Almost too beautiful to taste… almost…

IMG_7783

IMG_7790

Check out that delicious vanilla center…

IMG_7792

I enjoyed every last bite.

IMG_7796

See you next year you deliciously evil goodie.

IMG_7802

Happy holidays folks!

Leave a Reply

